By Jon Wiederhorn

The Rolling Stones will release giant vinyl and CD box sets of all of their early mono recordings on September 30. The Rolling Stones in Mono will features 186 tracks, 56 of which haven’t been available in mono since the dawn of digital.

Related: Rolling Stones’ Havana Concert Coming to a Theater Near You

The tracks were originally released between 1963 and 1969 in an era before stereo recordings became popular. Some listeners argue that classic mono tracks have more impact that their stereo counterparts.

“You felt you were in the room . . . listening to exactly what went down in the studio, no frills, no nothing,” Keith Richards wrote in his autobiography, Life.

“Rock was a completely new musical form,” Mick Jagger explained in a 1995 interview in Rolling Stone. “It hadn’t been around for ten years when we started doing it . . . You felt like one of the chosen few, one of the only ones in the world who would get to play with this new toy. We had evangelical fervor.”

The Rolling Stones in Mono will consist of 16 LPs or 15 CDs all mastered by Grammy award-winning engineer Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering. Both sets will be accompanied by a 5,000 word essay by veteran music journalist David Fricke.

The Rolling Stones In Mono 

  1. The Rolling Stones (UK, 1964)
  2. 12 X 5 (1964)
  3. The Rolling Stones No. 2 (UK, 1965)
  4. The Rolling Stones Now! (1965)
  5. Out of Our Heads (US, 1965)
  6. Out of Our Heads (UK, 1965)
  7. December’s Children (And Everybody’s) (1965)
  8. Aftermath (UK, 1966)
  9. Aftermath (US, 1966)
  10. Between the Buttons (UK, 1967)
  11. Flowers (1967)
  12. Their Satanic Majesties Request (1967)
  13. Beggar’s Banquet (1968)
  14. Let it Bleed (1969)
  15. Stray Cats (a new collection of single A & B sides plus E.P. tracks)




More From WCBS-FM 101.1

Big Show PodcastScott Shannon Weekly Podcast
Sunday 7am-11amScott Shannon's new show featuring artist interviews, song countdowns, one-hit-wonders and commentary from Scott.

Listen Live