By Amanda Wicks

In March, Neil Young shared that he was back in the studio working on a new album, and now we finally have details about what the project will entail. Titled Earth, Young’s newest album pulls together songs from albums old and new, as well as a previously unreleased song “I Won’t Quit.”

Related: Rolling Stones, Who, Paul McCartney Rumored for Fall Mega-festival

The album was recorded over the course of Young’s 2015 tour, The Promise of the Real, and features performances that include his sons, Lukas Nelson and Micah Nelson. The tracks mainly come from After the Gold Rush (1970), Ragged Glory (1990) and The Monsanto Years (2015). The 11-track album totals 98 minutes of music that will be presented as an “uninterrupted flow.”

To celebrate the upcoming album, Young will perform at The Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County on May 6 as part of the museum’s First Fridays.

Earth will be available June 17. Check out the track list below:

  1. “People Want to Hear About Love” (from The Monsanto Years)
  2. “Big Box” (from The Monsanto Years)
  3. “Mother Earth” (from Ragged Glory)
  4. “The Monsanto Years” (from The Monsanto Years)
  5. “I Won’t Quit” (previously unreleased)
  6. “Western Hero” (from Sleeps With Angels)
  7. “Vampire Blues” (from On The Beach)
  8. “Hippie Dream” (from Landing On Water)
  9. “After The Gold Rush” (from After The Gold Rush)
  10. “Wolf Moon” (from The Monsanto Years)
  11. “Love & Only Love” (from Ragged Glory)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From WCBS-FM 101.1

Big Show PodcastScott Shannon Weekly Podcast
Sunday 7am-11amScott Shannon's new show featuring artist interviews, song countdowns, one-hit-wonders and commentary from Scott.

Listen Live